Are you a native Floridian thinking about getting into motorcycling? A longtime biker who’s new to the Sunshine State? Either way, you might wonder if you need motorcycle insurance in Florida. As you may already know, the state follows a complicated no-fault insurance regime with certain carveouts for motorcycles. Let’s explore these rules and answer your questions about motorcycle insurance so you can get out on the road.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in Florida
So, do you need motorcycle insurance in Florida? While Florida is a no-fault state for auto insurance, the same insurance requirements do not apply to motorcycles. Technically, state law does not require you to purchase Florida motorcycle insurance to ride one. However, to register your motorcycle, you must show that you can cover any injuries you cause to others in an accident. There are three ways to do this:
- Show that you have purchased a motorcycle liability insurance policy that meets the state requirements for other vehicles: $10,000 per person, $20,000 per accident, and $10,000 for property damage.
- Self-insure by submitting proof of a certificate of deposit of $30,000 with a financial institution to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The FLHSMV will have power of attorney to pay for any damage you cause from these funds.
- Self-insure by showing you have the financial resources (at least $40,000 in unencumbered assets for the first vehicle and $20,000 for each additional vehicle) to take care of any injuries or damaged property resulting from an accident.
How Much Does Motorcycle Insurance Cost in Florida?
Regarding the cost of motorcycle insurance in Florida, there’s no one-size-fits-all answer. Why? Because each insurance company has its own method for setting rates. Some of the factors that can affect the cost of motorcycle insurance include:
- Your age and experience
- The type and model of your motorcycle
- Where you live and park your motorcycle
- Your driving record
- How frequently do you ride your motorcycle
- Whether you completed a motorcycle safety course
- Your desired coverage and policy limits
- The amount of your deductible
Do You Need Insurance to Register a Motorcycle in Florida?
No. Motorcycle insurance law in Florida does not require those vehicles to be insured. You will, however, need to meet the requirements for financial responsibility, either through purchasing liability insurance or self-insuring, as described above.
Penalties for Not Having Motorcycle Insurance in Florida
You do not need motorcycle insurance in Florida, so there is no penalty for operating yours without it. However, you could face the revocation of your license, fines, registration suspension, and other penalties if you ride without proof of financial responsibility.
Additionally, lacking proper insurance leaves you vulnerable to personal injury claims if you’re at fault in an accident, which could add up to tens of thousands of dollars. Added to this, if you do not have uninsured/uninsured motorist (UM/UIM) insurance as a motorcyclist, you could face difficulties if an uninsured driver hits you. UM/UIM is a crucial source of recovery when the at-fault driver has no or very little insurance.
Contact Our Florida Motorcycle Accident Lawyers Today
Hurt in a motorcycle accident in Florida? If someone else was to blame, they could be liable for your medical expenses, vehicle repairs, lost wages, and more. Let the Florida motorcycle accident lawyers with Cardoso Law, PLLC, help you vigorously pursue this compensation, all at no upfront cost to you. You can reach out to us by phone or through our online contact form.